Baltimore Orioles manager Buck Showalter has been named the 2014 American League Manager of the Year.

Despite injuries to Matt Wieters, Manny Machado and Chris Davis, Showalter led the Birds to their first AL East title since 1997, winning 96 games and taking the division by a ridiculous 12 games. This honor is nothing new for Showalter, he won it with the Yankees in 1994 and the Rangers in 2004.

The O’s skipper received 25 of the 30 available first place votes. Here’s a full breakdown of how the baseball writers voted:


Showalter becomes the third Orioles manager to win the award. Frank Robinson won it in 1989, Davey Johnson in 1997. He joins Bobby Cox, Tony La Russa, Dusty Baker, Jim Leyland and Lou Piniella as the only managers to win it three or more times.

Congratulations Buck!