Three Orioles were nominated for Rawlings Gold Glove Awards for their efforts in the 2011 season.  Right fielder Nick Markakis, shortstop J.J. Hardy and catcher Matt Wieters were among the finalists according to’s Roch Kubatko.

Markakis finds himself in the same category as Ichiro Suzuki, who despite a poor season is the favorite having won the honor ten times.

I was surprised to see O’s centerfielder Adam Jones off the list, but Rawlings selected three solid candidates for that position in Jacoby Ellsbury, Austin Jackson and Peter Bourjos.  Jones was the last Oriole to win a Gold Glove when he won in 2009.

The winners will be announced this evening at 10 PM on ESPN 2.