Cy Youngs
So, I was 0-2 in my picks for the Cy Young this year. Strangely, I’m not that mad. Not because there wasn’t money on the line, but because the two young stars who won it were absolutely deserving of the award. Zack Greinke and Tim Lincecum. These are two exciting pitchers with completely different styles. Here’s a look at why they ended up winning over some of the other contenders.

Zack Greinke-Kansas City Royals

A.L. Winner
For a guy who doesn’t like attention and being in the spotlight, Greinke didn’t help his cause. You don’t go out and post a 2.16 ERA if you don’t want people to talk about you. With that kind of ERA, people will be talking about him for awhile, and there’s no reason to believe that they won’t continue to for many seasons to come. This guy is something special. His wins weren’t as high as previous winners (16), but that is because he is on a Royals team that does not give him run support. Anyway you look at it, a starting pitcher who goes a full season with that kind of ERA, and second in the league in strikeouts with 242, definitely deserves the award. It is a nice comeback story, considering he led the A.L. in losses in 2005.

Tim Lincecum-San Francisco Giants

N.L. Winner
He’s done it for the second year in a row. There isn’t much that this kid (he’s only 25) can’t do, and he already has accomplished more in his career than many veterans. Only ten points separated the top three, but he was able to squeeze by Cardinals starters Chris Carpenter and Adam Wainwright. His wins weren’t as high as most would suspect from a Cy Young winner, just like Greinke, but every other pitching stat favored him for the award. His 2.48 ERA was second in the N.L., he led the N.L. in strikeouts with 261, and he posted four complete games and two shutouts. Pretty impressive. Don’t be surprised if he wins his third in a row next year.

While one could make solid arguments for my picks, Justin Verlander and Adam Wainwright, it’s nice to see these guys take the honors. Congratulations once again to Zack Greinke and Tim Lincecum.