If it weren’t for Ichiro, Nick Markakis would likely be collecting his fourth or fifth Gold Glove.  Instead, he received his first which is long overdue after another magnificent defensive season in right field for the Orioles.

Rawlings announced their Gold Glove awards and for the first time since 1998 the Orioles had multiple recipients. O’s All-Star Matt Wieters also earned his first Gold Glove for his outstanding defensive efforts behind the plate.

As MASNSports.com’s Roch Kubatko points out, Wieters is the first catcher in franchise history to win the award and he won over finalists A.J. Pierzynski and Alex Avila.

Markakis won his honor over Torii Hunter and Jeff Francoeur.

The O’s missed the sweep as J.J. Hardy was edged by Erick Aybar at shortstop.