On Monday afternoon, I was talking to my buddy Beas, a VT alum, about postseason football awards for the ACC after he brought up how close the race was between Tyrod Taylor and Russell Wilson for 1st team ACC honors. This, of course, led to the coach of the year race for the league. It came down to Ralph Friedgen and Frank Beamer for both of us. The writers for the ACC voted for Friedgen to win the award. Before getting to my pick, let’s review the facts for both coaches. After the terrible 0-2 start, Virginia Tech ran off ten straight victories to go undefeated in the ACC for the first time since 2000 and they won the Coastal Division. However, Tech was favored to get back to the ACC Championship. Now preseason Maryland was picked to finish last in the Atlantic after a 2-10 campaign last year, but Maryland finished this year 8-4 and 5-3 in the ACC. However, Maryland’s only quality win this year was their final one with the Wolfpack. My pick for coach of the year was Beamer, but I felt that if Maryland won both their final two games, Florida State and NC State (which would have put them in the ACC Championship), then I would have voted for the Fridge.
Although I think the voters got it wrong with this vote, I am extremely excited to see the future of Terps football with Danny O’Brien, the ACC Rookie of the Year, and the rest of the team. Fridge saved his job and seemed to right the ship. In times of adversity, you truly find out what you have and with Fridge’s back against the wall this year, he passed with flying colors.