Steelers safety Troy Polamalu was named AP’s defensive player of the year in Monday night. Polamalu defeated Green Bay Packers’ linebacker Clay Matthews by two votes. Additionally, Ravens safety Ed Reed and defensive tackle Haloti Ngata received one vote each.

Reed and Ngata finished behind third place finisher James Harrison and fourth place finisher Julius Peppers.

As Aaron Wilson points out, Reed led the NFL in interceptions with eight despite missing six games. Polamalu finished the season with seven, but of course will be remembered for his forced fumble on Joe Flacco in Baltimore that set up a game winning touchdown to give the Steelers the AFC North title.

While I don’t necessarily think that Reed should have defeated Polamalu for the title, the fact that he finished behind Harrison is laughable. Harrison’s dirty play didn’t seem to hinder him from voting. Mostly though, I am surprised that Matthews didn’t take the honor over Polamalu.

Are you surprised that Ed Reed received just one vote for defensive player of the year?